The edit screen defaults to a single column, this can be changed to multi-column under "Screen Options" at the top right.
"Quick links" are provided to perform specific actions faster. Quick links include:
- Mark Estimate as Pending
- Mark Estimate as Approved
- Mark Estimate as Declined
- Send Notification (link to option on edit page)
- Duplicate current estimate (redirects to newly created estimate)
- Delete estimate
These are found at the top of the edit screen next to the Estimate subject field and descriptions are shown on hover.
Each line item has a description, rate, quantity and discount field[ref]The discount field accepts negative values and could be used as a method to add tax.[/ref].
Sub line-items can be created by dragging the shuffle icon. The parent item will not have options for rate, qty and percentage since those will be calculated totals from all sub-items. This feature allows you to better distinguish line-item costs via sub-items without being too complex or a burden for a client to understand.
Add new line items with the Add button. The add button will have a drop-down option if you have any pre-defined tasks.
The information box allows you to edit:
- The estimate status
- The date the estimate was issued
- The estimate will expire
- Select (or add) a client
- Select an associated invoice
- The estimate ID
- A PO Number
- A total discount (for all line items)
- Tax rate (for all line items)
Creating a client
If a client doesn't exist already create one by clicking Edit next to "Estimate for None", the plus sign when clicked will bring up a client creation modal.
After the required fields are complete and saving the client is automatically created and associated with the estimate. There's no need to go to another admin page and create the client before adding/editing an estimate.
Terms and Notes
If these fields are left blank than the default terms and notes will be used.
The estimate history shows all the events in the history of the current estimate, including: status updates, notifications, client views, and more. A textarea at the bottom of the history is for private notes. Add project or status or any information that you don't want the client to see.
Sending out the Estimate
Sending an estimate from the edit screen can be done in two different ways: Quick Send or by selecting a Recipient and updating the estimate. The quick send will send the notification in the background but requires any edits to the estimate be saved first (unless the information isn't critical to the estimate notification being sent).
The Note field is used for the [sender_note] shortcode, if you don't need to add a note leave this blank and the shortcode will return nothing. There are many ways to use the [sender_note] shortcode, a popular method is to let your client know about any changes, another is to add a personal note to the client to increase engagement.
Sending a copy to yourself without any other recipient selected is a great way to test out what your client will see before sending out the estimate.